Accreditation of AVI (Accreditated Vocational Institute) at State and District level:-

In an Open and Distance learning (ODL) system, NIOS expects its learners to be self-learners undergoing learning from a package of Self Instructional Materials (SIM). However, it does not completely do away with human support. In ODL system, learners need handholding, help and support from other people not only to be successful in their endeavour to continue learning but also in using the package effectively.
Keeping this in view, NIOS provides planned institutional support in different ways from the time a learner joins the system till successful completion of the course. In this context, NIOS considers utilization of existing available resources in formal schools and in certain other institutions by accrediting selected institutions to be its partners. Till 2015, NIOS had 1427 such partner institutions called Accredited Vocational Institutions (AVIs) in India, Nepal and Middle East. These assist NIOS in its various functions related to the Vocational Education Programme.
In a similar structural set-up, a network of Accredited Vocational institutes (AVIs) has been established in various States and Districts under the ASHA Certification Programme. These AVIs are accredited training sites. They act as nodal centres for providing support services related to

  • Registration of ASHAs;
  • Conducting training programmes;
  • Supply of study materials i.e Supplementary books and audio-visual aids to ASHAs; and
  • Conducting Examinations

The training sites are certified by NIOS and actively assist NIOS under the ASHA Certification Programme.

Functions of AVIs (Accredited Vocational Institutes)

An Accredited Vocational Institution (AVIs) under the ASHA certification programme serves as the Accredited Training Centre and is required to perform the following academic and administrative functions:

  • To act as a Nodal Centre for dual purpose viz.,
    (a) conducting training programmes and
    (b) examinations for ASHAs and ASHA Trainers.
  • To inform and facilitate the ASHAs in their registration and schedule of examinations.
  • To conduct training programmes and refresher courses for ASHAs as per the training schedule designed.
  • To establish, facilitate and arrange for practical classes/skill corners by making available, workshop facilities of the institution to ASHAs and ASHA Trainers.
  • To make available the self learning materials and audio-visual aids to ASHAs like ASHA Modules, Supplementary book, IEC materials to ASHAs supplied by NIOS/NHSRC/SHSRC.
  • To act as examination centre in order to conduct examinations for ASHAs and ASHA Trainers in a free and fair manner, smoothly, without any malpractices and without use of unfair means.
  • To participate in academic activities like conferences, workshops as and when planned by NIOS.
  • To cooperate and coordinate with NIOS in activities related to research and data collection as and when needed.

Certification of State and District Trainer:-

The training of the trainers (TOT) is based on a cascade model, in which State trainers train the District trainers and District trainers further train the ASHAs. At the State level, the trainers have an educational background on nursing/clinical/social work with 7 to 10 years of work experience.
Assessment and certification of trainers is required to enhance their skills and competencies, in order to improve their work efficiency and quality of training. During the certification process, trainers undergo series of refresher training to sharpen up their knowledge and skills listed in the ASHA modules.

The State and District trainers are registered at the Accredited Vocational Institutes (AVIs) functioning under the ASHA Certification Programme at State and District level. The AVIs act as nodal institutions for providing supportive services related to application of trainers, conducting training programmes, examinations, distribution of study material and certificates.
The trainers are assessed on three components:

• Theory
• Practical and
• Training skills.

Training skills of the trainers are assessed during the training programme. Theory and Practical skills of the trainers are assessed at the end of the refresher training on the supplementary book. Maximum Marks allocated are 300 (100 marks each for Theory, Practical and Training skills).

Objectives of Assessment and Certification

The main objectives of assessment and certification of ASHAs are as follows-

  • To assess the skills and competencies of ASHAs.
  • To recognize the learning acquired by ASHAs through certification.
  • To inspire ASHAs to fulfil their work responsibility to the optimum level.
  • To establish a mechanism to improve knowledge, skill and competencies among ASHAs across the country.

Areas of Assessment

The assessment of ASHA is biased on Internal assessment, theory and practical skills during and after the refresher training. Internal assessment is conducted during the refresher training. The summative assessment for theory and practical skills is conducted after the training.